Evil Words Are Only Discouragment

“Do not speak evil against one another, brothers. “The one who speaks against a brother or judges his brother, speaks evil against the law and judges the law. But if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law but a judge. There is only one lawgiver and judge, he who is able to save and to destroy. But who are you to judge your neighbor?”

-James 4:11-12

This verse is for me and to all video gamer who likes to say bad words and anything that may hurt his playmate. Trashtalk seems natural in playing popular multiplayer online battle arena today. This is also the reason why I quit playing such game as I found it disturbing in my part.

I believe that my team only wants me to play better but actually that went the other way so I quit.

I also shared a verse that instead of saying bad words, we should share encouragement (1 Thessalonians 5:11) to others and this apply not only on Christian but also as a team in playing video games. Bad words and hurts will only weaken a person but encouragement will let them to improve more and that is what we we really want from the start.

For the second insight which happens in Christians. I remember that point that I don’t want to go church anymore is not because I lose faith on God but discouragement that I feel inside of me.

I’m part of the choir back then but also playing secular music as I’m very fond of music. It came to the point that church  saying discouragement to me that leads me to hate myself. So I quit and even that is for God Ii gave up. I don’t feel the love anymore. I admit that I enjoyed playing secular music that I can’t give it up. It was my fault for choosing secular things over God.

I quit playing secular after a year. It came to the point that I’m tired and I want other things. From that I realized the important matter, I can’t quit secular music anytime. But discouragement is still in my heart. The guilt and condemnation in myself that I can’t serve the God anymore is still there.

I until I met a new church that encouraged me again, to continue believing in myself that God is still love me no matter what.

Leave a comment