Are You Insured?

“And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.” -2 Corinthians 1:21-22

An insurance agent told me that as a Filipino getting an insurance is not a part of our plan. Unlike in western countries, they are serious talking about getting insured in life we don’t expect.

I agreed to her actually since we have a custom of one-day satisfaction. It is like, the only important thing to us is today and we don’t mind tomorrow.

I admit that I missed paying my insurance for a year. It’s a shame because I need to spend my money without thinking my future especially for my family.

What do you think? It is positive or negative? Because even Jesus said in Mathew 6:25, “Do not worry”. I really don’t know. Maybe that is where we get this custom of “Bahala na” or come what may. The only problem with us is not doing what Jesus said on “praying” and seeking the Kingdom of God.

Also I think there is a difference between living happy-go-lucky and putting trust to God. Just going with the flow means, we don’t care. We don’t care about our lives today and even our lives in eternity. While putting trust to God is doing what must need to do and do not worry on the outcome of it instead just leave it to God as guarantee.

In 2 Corinthians 1:21-22, Peter reminds us a guarantee or insurance that we will get as we established ourselves with Christ.

Leave a comment