What Is Poor In Spirit?

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”

-Matthew 5:3

This verse is one of confusing verses for me. I really don’t understand why we must be poor in spirit. I tried to read some commentary here and some said it is referring on being poor in earthly possession. But i’m not well convinced as Jesus used the word spirit. He can easily say the word “poor” as what He did in other verse dealing with the word poor if He is just merely on poverty. But with the word spirit, I know He meant something different.

As I’m writing this, the following verse came up to me. “for theirs is the kingdom of heaven” so this is an opposite. Being the opposite He can probably referring to poverty. So that’s my insight. You will find teachings in bible constructed in this way like, “although he was rich, for your sake he became poor” and “So the last will be first, and the first last. “

Another thing from what I had read, Jesus is referring to humbleness. As a Christian we can say to ourselves that we know our God, we know Jesus, we are rich in spirit. But we need to be humble and still we should say that we are poor in spirit.

Now what came to my mind is how Jesus humble himself as one of his disciples called him good and yet He replied, only God in heaven is good. So we can also say that as a Christian when someone said that we are good, that we know God’s word and we know him, we are rich in spirit – no I’m  still poor in spirit.

I’m accepting more insight here, enlighten me in this verse. God Bless.

3 thoughts on “What Is Poor In Spirit?

  1. Hi, Ervin, get in touch with me. We have something we should work on together. I have been trying to reach you, but I can’t find your contact page. God bless you.

    Like

  2. I sometimes think of the following verses when dealing with that one:

    *[[2Pe 2:7-8/KJV]] …Lot, vexed with the filthy conversation of the wicked: (For that righteous man dwelling among them, in seeing and hearing, vexed his righteous soul from day to day with their unlawful deeds;)

    Like

  3. I’ve been reading the most amazing book called Studies in the Sermon on the Mount by D. Martin Lloyd Jones. He dedicates an entire chapter to this verse, explaining how it was mainly referring to having a humble spirit before God, like you mentioned. You should check it out, it’s one of my favorites! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

