Death Penalty In The Bible?

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

-Romans 6:23

I believe this is where they got when they said that death penalty is in the bible. First let me say that I will say this not for us to get divided with our belief but to share some insight to everyone as I’m willing to listen to your insight too.

I remember 6 years ago when the leader of the biggest protestant church here in Philippines ran for president. He was on debate while the issue is about death penalty which is sensitive topic here in our country. Actually he was my bet knowing that he is a man of God and I’m so tired with corrupted politician here in PH. So he asked if he is pro for death penalty as once elected he is going to bring back this sentence. He said, “yes.as this is written in the bible.”

Of course I got shock with his answer but I know he is not lying as with this statement that will give him bad images as politician. But I know he can’t also lie about God’s word as what he believes about it.

That debate had been discussed also in our catholic community and why this christian presidentiable said it was written in bible? Do the God of Love allows such as life-taking penalty? Our leader told me yes it is  in Romans 6:23.

Well that presidentiable failed. No doubt.

Now the well-known Manny Pacquiao ran and got a place in senate in recent election held here in Philippines. We all know that he is christian. He has been asked the same question about death penalty and he answered the same as he said this is written in the bible.

Very sensitive case and if I’m going to ask, I am also yes to it. Death is inevitable, good people die  and so be with bad. But I know in my heart, who am I to judge. What if God is giving them chance to renew his life and with death penalty we are taking away his chance to know Jesus.

If really death is wages of sin, why not let God be the judge of taking the life he once gave to us.

And for 2nd insight. With the verse, I believe that Jesus already paid the price for our death. So Romans 6:23 is still applicable? I know bible is absolute but I’m talking about do bible still encourage death penalty despite of what Jesus done wit us?

Please enlighten me. God Bless.

5 thoughts on “Death Penalty In The Bible?

  1. You bring up a very interesting point: who are we to judge another person. I think it is best to remember that in Leviticus, God outlined what crimes should result in a sentence of death. It was not so that men could have an excuse to kill one another but to dissuade men from killing one another. The sentence of death was also reserved for governments, not ordinary men (which is simply vengeance).

    Like

  2. God instituted the death penalty right after the flood. Genesis 9:5-6
    And for your lifeblood I will require a reckoning: from every beast I will require it and from man. From his fellow man I will require a reckoning for the life of man. Whoever sheds the blood of man, by man shall his blood be shed, for God made man in his own image. Murder is especially heinous as it is against the image of God. Since God instituted it and it has never been revoked by God then it is still in effect. And as the previous poster pointed out God gave that responsibility to the government not individuals.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I personally don’t view this verse as having to do with the death penalty. I think this verse means that the price for our sins is death. Since we all sin, we all die. It just states “sin,” and since we all miss the mark of perfection we don’t get eternal life (while we are in our current state). This has always been true. Had Jesus (remember he was perfect and without sin and replaced the original Adam) of sinned, he could of died by old age, but since he didn’t he could of lived forever in his body (of course he could still get murdered). That way, when we die, we no longer suffer because of our sins. This verse kind of counters the whole idea of you burning in hell for all eternity because of the limited number of sins you committed (because you already paid for your sins with your death). Does anyone get the gist of what I’m saying?

    Like

  4. I think Jesus taught us another way: 38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.’ 39 But I say to you, Do not resist an evildoer. But if anyone strikes you on the right cheek, turn the other also; 40 and if anyone wants to sue you and take your coat, give your cloak as well; 41 and if anyone forces you to go one mile, go also the second mile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

