Christians : Suffering or Prosperity?

“More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.”

-Romans 5:3-5

This is a long-time question for me which I already answer based on my experience. This will result conflict from the believe of most Christian (Prosperity Theology) that is why I don’t want to touch this topic but the random verse give me this Romans 5:3-5, maybe it is time to share to you my stand about it. So as a Christian, what should we expect in our lives, Suffering or Prosperity?

From the verse above it is clear that as a Christian we should rejoice in our sufferings, so there is a suffering. But in Jeremiah 29:11, God also promised a prosperity.

I’m not a pastor or bible expert but I have my own experience on both, as a Christian in prosperity as well as in suffering. Suffering taught me to hold unto God. It is like I never knew how much faith I have until holding to God is the only thing I can do. And after those trials he blessed me with prosperity. Also in my life I learned a lot from suffering than comfortable living and I thank God that He is not giving me trials beyond my capabilities.

Now the misconception is the literal meaning of prosperity and suffering. So as a christian you will experience pain, affliction, or so called suffering but the in the end of it there is always a prosperity and that is for you to grow. So in the end there is no actually downside being a christian and it is all about for us to grow. And for those who hold too much on the promise of prosperity, being prosper is not only on materials things but also being rich in faith which is the most important above all.

4 thoughts on “Christians : Suffering or Prosperity?

  1. Thank you for these words of encouragement from God’s Holy Word. Thank you for reading and following holdingforthhisword. May our glorious Savior Jesus Christ abundantly bless you. Amen!

    Like

  2. The wealth of a person is not just measured in dollars and cents… or any other unit of currency. You have written and stated everything so beautifully.

    Thanks for following my blog… I welcome you to my website!

    Like

  3. I believe that suffering and prosperity are not opposites of each other, at times they both can be on the same side of the coin. Jesus said that those who follow me will be persecuted – John 15:20 (So without a doubt we can expect suffering in the form of persecution) – 2 Timothy 3:12.

    Prosperity is a grossly misunderstood topic. I believe God wants us to prosper not just spiritually but also physically and mentally (3 John 2) that we may lack no good thing – Psalms 34:10. But prosperity is not for selfish reasons but rather to be a blessing to other people like Abraham. If we begin to follow the Lord for the sake of prosperity then we have missed the whole point. Jesus said seek the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all these things will be given to you – Matthew 6:33. So yes our focus should not be prosperity but the Lord alone and yet while we do that the Lord prospers us – It’s his promise not ours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

